2025 Howard Hite Award for Hybridizing Excellence Nomination Form

During the 1989 Region 2 Summer Meeting, the Southern Michigan Daylily Society announced their sponsorship of the Howard Hite Award for Hybridizing Excellence. The award is a free-form, sand-etched glass plate with an engraved image of Howard Hite's H. 'Indonesia'. THE AWARD IS NOT BASED ON THE QUANTITY OF NOMINATIONS FOR ANY INDIVIDUAL, BUT IS BASED ON THE QUALITY OF THE INDIVIDUAL'S YEARS OF HYBRIDIZING EFFORTS TO IMPROVE DAYLILY CULTIVARS. PLEASE TAKE THE TIME TO DESCRIBE WHAT THE INDIVIDUAL HAS ACCOMPLISHED. CONSIDER LISTING THE # OF REGISTRATIONS, NEW DIRECTIONS OR PROCEDURES ATTRIBUTED TO THE NOMINEE; AHS/REGION 2 HYBRIDIZING HONORS AND NOTABLE SERVICE CONTRIBUTIONS TO HYBRIDIZING.

The criteria for selection of a recipient are as follows:

- The award is to honor a Region 2 AHS member who has contributed notable achievements in the field of hybridizing.
 These achievements have been the results of years of a dedicated hybridizing program, and have greatly influenced the world of daylilies.
- 2. The award may be given each year only if a recipient is selected.
- 3. A person may receive the award only one time,
- 4. Deceased hybridizers may be considered for the award.
- 5. Any <u>AHS Region 2 Member</u> (including committee members) <u>may submit names of possible recipients</u> to the Awards and Honors Chair before May 1st, of each year. The <u>final selection will be determined by the Hite Award Committee</u> composed of four members and the Regional President representing the five states in the Region.
- 6. Names of past nominees may be considered as possible candidates for future years.

Previous Howard Hite Recipients

1990 Dr. Charles Branch	2003 Charles Applegate	2015 Bret Clement
1992 No Award	2004 Dan Bachman	2016 Phil & Luella Korth
1993 Bryant Millikan	2005 Dottie Warrell	2017 Bob Faulkner
1994 Steve Moldovan	2006 Don Jerabck	2018 John Kulpa
1995 Howard Hite	2007 Richard Norris	2019 Mandy McMahon
1996 Dr. Robert Griesbach	2008 Roy Klehm	2020 No Award
1997 Dennis Anderson	2009 Jamie Gossard	2021 No Award
1998 Curt Hanson	2010 Robert Ellison	2022Gerda Brooker
1999 Margie Soules	2011 Joel Thomas Polston	2023 Steve Williams
2000 John Benz	2012 James Marsh	2024 Mike Holmes
2001 Leo Sharp	2013 Martin Kamensky	2025
2002 Walter Jablonski	2014 Sandy Holmes	2026

Howard Hite Award for Hybridizing Excellence Nomination Form

Nominations for the Hite Award are made by Region 2 Members. Use this form and attach any additional documentation, to support your nomination if desired. <u>YOU ARE ENCOURAGED TO GIVE DETAILED REASONS FOR YOUR NOMINATION</u>. This form may be photocopied, and you may send attachments.

I wish to nominate			
For the following reasons		Y.	

Please Print Your Name	Are You an AHS Member	Yes	No
Signature	Date		

Complete this form by May 1, 2025, and mail or scan / email to:

Gail Braunstein, Region 2 Awards and Honors Chair 3010 McIntire Road Morrow, Ohio 45152 gailbraunstein@hotmail.com