2023 Howard Hite Award for Hybridizing Excellence Nomination Form

During the 1989 Region 2 Summer Meeting, the Southern Michigan Daylily Society announced their sponsorship of the Howard Hite Award for Hybridizing Excellence. The award is a free-form, sand-etched glass plate with an engraved image of Howard Hite's H. 'Indonesia'. THE AWARD <u>IS NOT</u> BASED ON THE QUANTITY OF NOMINATIONS FOR ANY INDIVIDUAL, BUT <u>IS</u> <u>BASED</u> ON THE QUALITY OF THE INDIVIDUAL'S YEARS OF HYBRIDIZING EFFORTS TO IMPROVE DAYLILY CULTIVARS. PLEASE TAKE THE TIME TO DESCRIBE WHAT THE INDIVIDUAL HAS ACCOMPLISHED. CONSIDER LISTING THE # OF REGISTRATIONS, NEW DIRECTIONS OR PROCEDURES ATTRIBUTED TO THE NOMINEE; AHS/REGION 2 HYBRIDIZING HONORS AND NOTABLE SERVICE CONTRIBUTIONS TO HYBRIDIZING.

The criteria for selection of a recipient are as follows:

- 1. <u>The award is to honor a Region 2 AHS member who has contributed notable achievements in the field of hybridizing.</u> <u>These achievements have been the results of years of a dedicated hybridizing program, and have greatly influenced</u> <u>the world of daylilies.</u>
- 2. The award may be given each year only if a recipient is selected.
- 3. A person may receive the award only one time.
- 4. Deceased hybridizers may be considered for the award.
- 5. Any <u>AHS Region 2 Member</u> (including committee members) <u>may submit names of possible recipients</u> to the Awards and Honors Chair before May 1st, of each year. The final selection will be determined by the Hite Award Committee composed of four members and the Regional President representing the five states in the Region.
- 6. Names of past nominees may be considered as possible candidates for future years.

Previous Howard Hite Award Recipients

1990 Dr. Charles Branch 1991 No Award 1992 Bryant Millikan 1993 Charles Reckamp 1994 Steve Moldovan 1995 Howard Hite 1996 Dr. Robert Griesbach 1997 Dennis Anderson 1998 Curt Hanson 1999 Margie Soules 2000 John Benz 2001 Leo Sharp 2002 Walter Jablonski 2003 Charles Applegate 2004 Dan Bachman 2005 Dottie Warrell 2006 Don Jerabek 2007 Richard Norris 2008 Roy Klehm 2009 Jamie Gossard 2010 Robert Ellison 2011 Joel Thomas Polston 2012 James Marsh 2013 Martin Kamensky 2014 Sandy Holmes 2015 Bret Clement 2016 Phil & Luella Korth 2017 Bob Faulkner 2018 John Kulpa 2019 Mandy McMahon 2020 No Award 2021 No Award 2022 Gerda Brooker

2023 Howard Hite Award for Hybridizing Excellence Nomination Form

Nominations for the Hite Award are made by Region 2 Members. Use this form and attach any additional documentation, to support your nomination if desired. <u>YOU ARE ENCOURAGED TO GIVE DETAILED REASONS FOR YOUR NOMINATION</u>. This form may be photocopied, and you may send attachments.

I wish to nominate_

For the following reasons____

Please Print Your Name

_____ Are You an AHS Member

Date

No

Yes

Signature___

Complete this form by May 1, 2023, and mail or scan / email to:

Gail Braunstein, Region 2 Awards and Honors Chair 3010 McIntire Road Morrow, Ohio 45152 gailbraunstein@hotmail.com